RFE Statistical Investigation

LI: to read for our own enjoyment over two weeks and calculate the minutes spent RFE.

Over the past two weeks, LS2 has been challenged to read for at least 15 minutes or more everyday. We converted our total times into a graph in order to perform a statistical investigation of how long students read a day.

The total amount of minutes I spent reading in week one from 30th of July to 5th of August was 861 minutes or 14 hours. We also answered the questions; What times we enjoy reading, where we read and why we read. The amount of minutes I spent reading in week two from the 8th to the 12th of August was 955 minutes or 15 hours. I read more in the first week because I had more opportunity to read afterschool and in school. In the second week, I read less because I was more occupied with afterschool activities. The reason we do this is because students who read for a minimum of 15 minutes a day for one school year are proven to perform better academically than students who read for 5 minutes or less.

I found this task helpful because I applied my knowledge of statistical investigations to create an informative graph. I enjoyed this reading challenge because it made me grow my word knowledge.

One thought on “RFE Statistical Investigation

  1. Kia Ora David,

    Intresting blog post you’ve written. It’s great to see you have converted your data onto a graph to make it easier to read the information you have gathered. Some feedback is you should add a little bit more information about why you did this task. Other than that, you have done a great job explaining your task.

    After doing this task, what did you find difficult about completing this activity?

    Keep up the good work! : )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *